All purpose salve

We recently moved to New Brunswick in the middle of winter from British Columbia. Which is a big switch in temperature. It was hardest on my little munchkin.

His eczema started acting up, cheeks were all read from the cold, and he started getting a diaper rash.

It was the middle of a snow storm so we couldn’t get out to town to pick up what I was using before. So with the suggestion and supplies of my mother in law, I got to work making my own.

IMG_20190130_085417_558

What you need:

  • 1tbs shea butter
  • 1tbs beeswax (grated or chopped)
  • 2-3 tbs calendula oil
  1. Combine all ingredients in a measuring cup.
  2. Fill a pot with water, place measuring cup in pot, bring the water to a simmer. Stir the contents until everything melts. Be careful to not get any water into the salve.
  3. When melted, carefully remove from pot of water. Pour into tins, jars, or lip balm tubes.
  4. Let cool completely and put lids on containers.

I use this as lip balm, for eczema, diaper rash, raw nose when sick, and dry skin.

You could also add a couple drops of an essential oil like lavender. I didn’t because I was using it for my toddler.

 

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

 

Leave a comment